Nick Mason: World in Shock, Ultimate Warrior is gone

10155035_477832015676269_7126183758672599903_n

Good day, to all reading this blog, exclusively on LockUP Wrestling. As you may, or may not have heard, we lost a true great on Tuesday. Ultimate Warrior, died of a suspected heart attack, following a passionate appearance on raw.

Shocking

I was exceptionally shocked to hear of the passing of Warrior, so much so I had to rub my eyes a few times before I realised what I had just read. Many news outlets in the states and in the UK are reporting that Warrior, had collapsed outside a hotel in Arizona. Many more are reporting that he clutched his chest, which could indicate that he had a massive heart attack.

I was only 1 years old when Ultimate Warrior last appeared on Raw, so most of my memories have come from VHS and DVD. But, the memories still live on. Ultimate Warrior, the character, will live on in the hearts and the minds of all professional wrestling fans, a certainly unforgettable character, who was arguably THE most over the top character in WWF/E history.

I remember, the first ever wrestling event I ever watched was Wrestlemania 6, on VHS. The monumental event saw Ultimate Warrior triumph over Hulk Hogan, to win the WWF Championship, and retain his WWF Intercontinental Championship. From this match on, I was hooked on professional wrestling.

It goes to show you how life can change in a matter of moments, one moment, he was being inducted into the Hall of Fame, then he was giving a passionate speech on raw, then he suffered a massive medical catastrophe and now he’s no longer with us.

I understand many wrestling fans around the world are distraught, as they’ve lost another childhood hero, I was equally shocked when I read Wednesday morning that he’d passed. Although, looking back, I wonder if he know that something was going to happen. His speech on raw appeared fairly cryptic. He was said to have been in massive pain all throughout Wrestlemania weekend.

Nancy Grace, Steroid Use

This afternoon (Thursday 10th) I was alerted to a breaking story which revolved around an American news anchor, named Nancy Grace, who appeared to be excruciatingly disrespectful. I do have a message for her, and it’s one that comes directly from what I believe in. “Don’t talk about what you don’t know, professional wrestling fans are extremely well educated, when It comes to the industry. You’ve just essentially fed yourself to the sharks. It could cost you, your job.

It’s public knowledge that Ultimate Warrior used to consume steroids, in order to help him maintain his figure, but as far as I’m aware, he quit those years ago. Anabolic Steroids do possess the chance to have a fatal effect on the consumers heart. They could cause arrhythmia, an irregular heartbeat, which can kill at any time.

But his steroid years were well behind him, and we as a fan base don’t need to keep hearing that steroid use possibly killed him. All we know is, our hero has passed away, and that’s all that matters.

It has also been reported that no drugs or alcohol were in his system at the time death, according to reports.

No more needs to be said on the subject, I’m sure it will become much clearer in time.

Thanks for reading.

Here is Warriors final raw speech: “No WWE talent becomes a legend on their own. Every man’s heart one day beats its final beat. His lungs breathe their final breath. And if what that man did in his life what makes the blood pulse through the body of others and makes them bleed deeper and something larger than life then his essence, his spirit, will be immortalized”

R.I.P Warrior, the world of professional wrestling will miss you forever, even though you will live on in the hearts and minds of all fans, it’s still hard to accept that the shock is very real. Thank you for the hours maybe weeks of entertainment. Never forgotten. Shake those pearly gates.

